Once that beautiful engagement ring is slipped on your finger, images of bridal dresses, flowers and invitations dance in your head, as they should. However, there is one vital piece of your wedding day we don’t want you to miss, and that is applying for your Las Vegas marriage license! Although it’s fairly easy to obtain your marriage license in Las Vegas, we encourage you not to wait. Your application is saved in the Clark County Marriage Bureau’s system for one year, so no need to save this task for the week of your wedding. Use the list below to help you understand and navigate this task!
It is strongly encouraged to complete the online application prior to going to a Clark County Marriage Bureau to obtain your marriage license. The application is saved in the system for one year from the date of submission, so no need to wait. Use the exact spelling reflected on your identification and documents you will present at the office for confirmation. You can find the pre-application online here!
You and your partner must appear in person before a Clerk at a Clark County Marriage Bureau. The Marriage License Bureau is located just 3 blocks south of the Fremont Street Experience and is open 7 days a week, 8am-midnight, all holidays, no exceptions! A Drivers License, ID or Passport proving your name and age is required. Applicants must be at least 18 years of age. You can find a list of acceptable identification here. No blood work is required.
The cost to obtain a marriage license is $77, lucky number! Credit cards are accepted in person and usually cash is recommended outside the restrictions of COVID 19. For more information please visit their fees page.
Non U.S. Citizens
For non U.S. citizens, some foreign countries require a copy of your marriage license and/or an apostille to register a marriage. It is suggested that non U.S. citizens check with their local officials for special documents needed to ensure their marriage is recognized in their country. Information regarding apostilles can be found under the Licensing Center section on the website of the Nevada Secretary of State.
The person performing your marriage ceremony must possess a Certificate of Permission to Perform Marriages in the state of Nevada and be issued by a County Clerk from the state of Nevada. An out-of-state officiant may obtain permission to perform a single marriage ceremony in the State of Nevada. Please visit Marriage Officiants on how to apply for this certificate. Three months prior to your wedding ceremony is when this should take place.
Your marriage ceremony may be performed at any wedding chapel, church, the Office of Civil Marriages or anywhere your marriage officiant is willing to perform the marriage ceremony in the State of Nevada. There is no waiting period after receiving your license. You can get married immediately! You’ll need one witness, but may have two, to sign your marriage certificate.
Your officiant who performs your marriage ceremony has, by law, ten calendar days from the date of the ceremony to file the marriage certificate with the Clark County Marriage Bureau. Once filed, you can order a certified marriage certificate (legal proof of marriage) online from the Online Ordering website. The cost is $20 per certified copy. You’ll need copies to legally change your name! You also get to keep a keepsake certificate for your own use.
For additional information, please visit the Clark County Marriage Bureau’s website.
How long does it take to get the marriage certificate once you are married? Is the keepsake certificate accepted by employers, insurance companies, the military as proof of marriage?